Chicken Carbonara and Zucchini Noodles (GAPS, Paleo)

Posted on Updated on

chicken carbonara

Yep, more zucchini noodles. They’re so versatile. My son said he was bored with our regular menu rotation, so I decided to try a dish I’d never made, carbonara. We also had some leftover chicken that needed to be used up, so I put that in.

My son was grateful :).

Chicken Carbonara

*2 Tbsp refined coconut oil

*1/4 onion, finely chopped

*1/4 lb nitrate free bacon

*1 lb chicken, cooked and diced (leftovers are great 🙂 )

*3 cloves garlic, pressed or minced

*3 egg yolks, whisked with 1 Tbsp water

*sea salt (Celtic, Himalayan) to taste

*freshly grated Parmesan(optional)

Heat the coconut oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add onions and bacon. Cook until the onions are soft and bacon is done. Add the garlic and cooked chicken and cook for a couple of minutes. Turn off the heat. Let cool a bit while you start the noodles. When slightly cooled, pour the egg yolk mixture into the skillet and mix quickly to prevent the egg yolks from “scrambling”. Pour over hot noodles and mix. Top with Parmesan if using.

Zucchini Noodle

Cut 3 medium zucchini into “noodles” with a vegetable peeler or spiral slicer. Add  2 teaspoons salt, and place in a colander to drain for 30 minutes. Bring a pot of salted water to boil. Add zucchini; cook for 2-3 minutes. Drain.

I just finished eating mine :). Tell me how it goes!

This post was shared on Healing with Food Friday.

3 thoughts on “Chicken Carbonara and Zucchini Noodles (GAPS, Paleo)

    salixisme said:
    September 15, 2013 at 9:14 am

    Sounds delicious! I love zucchini noodles and carbonara.

      Debbie responded:
      September 15, 2013 at 9:27 am

      Ha, that’s because you are actually a cook! I’ve never even had carbonara except at a restaurant a long time ago 🙂

      I have to say I like the dish better with zucchini than with noodles. So much flavor!

    Dawn Tasher (@peelingbackthe) said:
    September 21, 2013 at 11:24 am

    Thanks for linking up at Healing With Food Friday! http://peelingbacktheonionlayers.com/healing-with-food-friday/

Leave a comment