Fresh Fruit Muffins (GAPS, Paleo)

Posted on Updated on

fresh fruit muffins

We’ve tried these muffins with different fruits including blueberries, raspberries, and my favorite, peaches! I think you could put almost any fruit in them and they would taste good.

These are pretty sweet. Feel free to cut the honey a bit if you don’t like your muffins sweet! One reason I make them like that is because I have a family who doesn’t really want to eat healthy food, they just care how it tastes. So I don’t tell them to get rid of their gluten, chemical filled food and replace it with this really “healthy” tasting stuff. I try to make food that tastes great to anyone, even people who don’t care if they’re healthy :).

Recipe

*1/2 cup honey

*1/4 cup grassfed butter -or- coconut oil + 1/8 tsp salt

*4 pastured eggs

*1 Tbsp vanilla (yes, 1 Tablespoon! I think this makes it taste like a fruit cobbler)

*1 1/2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar

*2 1/2 cups almond flour

*3/4 tsp baking soda

*1 1/2 cups fresh fruit of your choice, cut into 1/4″ pieces

Warm the butter (or coconut oil) and the honey until just melted. Add room temperature eggs and other wet ingredients and mix. Combine dry ingredients together in a separate bowl, Add the dry ingredients to wet ingredients and mix well. Fold in fruit. Pour into greased muffin tins (or use cupcake liners like I do). Bake at 350 degrees for 22-25 minutes. Makes about 16 muffins.

Tonight we made raspberry and peach. I’d love to hear what you try! Sweet dreams 🙂

This post was shared on Healing with Food Friday.

7 thoughts on “Fresh Fruit Muffins (GAPS, Paleo)

    Kumu said:
    September 12, 2013 at 11:58 pm

    Is there any substitute for the Almond Flour for baking ?

    Debbie responded:
    September 13, 2013 at 6:36 am

    For these recipes, I wouldn’t know how to substitute. Coconut flour and almond flour are used a lot in GAPS or paleo baking, and my daughter hates coconut flour. So any recipes I test are usually tested on her. 🙂

    I like coconut flour, and I think it’s better for you. It does have a different texture and is much different to bake with. Not everyone likes it. I’m planning to try something with nut butters soon.

    Does that answer your question?

    Anita said:
    September 14, 2013 at 4:17 pm

    Where can you buy almond flour?

      Debbie responded:
      September 14, 2013 at 5:25 pm

      I buy mine at Amazon.
      You can get Bob’s Red Mill brand in the health food section of some grocery stores in the U.S. It’s not as finely ground. Where do you live?

        Debbie responded:
        September 20, 2013 at 10:13 pm

        I’m SO sad. They raised the price 15.00 on this almond flour. I’m going to have to find another place :(. Hopefully they change it back again.

        I’ve heard that it’s $25 at Costco. I don’t have a membership.

    Jennifer at Purposeful Nutrition said:
    September 26, 2013 at 6:33 pm

    Thanks for sharing at Healing With Food Friday. Come back again this Friday.

      Debbie responded:
      September 26, 2013 at 7:03 pm

      Of course 🙂

Leave a Reply

