Cauliflower Soup Topped with Bacon and Basil Guacamole (GAPS/Paleo)

Posted on Updated on

cauliflower soup

I have a thing for basil guacamole and I put it on everything: salad, meat, veggies, or even a spoonful :). So when I made bacon burgers for my family last night, I decided to try some of the basil guacamole with my soup. Unbelievable.

I’ve also never tried cauliflower soup. It tastes like a cream soup without any cream, yum!

Cauliflower Soup

*2 Tbsp pasture butter or ghee

*1-2 cloves garlic (2 cloves if you love garlic)

*1/2 onion, chopped

*1 head  cauliflower, cut in pieces and steamed
*3 cups chicken broth.
*sea salt (Celtic, Himalayan) to taste
* 8 slices of  bacon (nitrate free, sugar free)
Cook the bacon in the oven at 375 degrees for 25-30 minutes. Set aside. Cut or break into 1/4″ to 1/2″ inch pieces.
Steam cauliflower for 15-20 minutes and set aside. Heat the broth in a large saucepan.
In a small to medium skillet, melt butter or ghee and cook onions until soft. Add sea salt to taste and garlic and cook for about 30 seconds. Put both the cauliflower and the onion mixture into the blender and blend until smooth. Add a little chicken broth if mixture is too thick to blend. Pour the cauliflower puree into the broth. Add sea salt  (I added almost 1 1/2 teaspoons, because my chicken broth wasn’t very salty) and mix. Serve soup with bacon pieces and basil guacamole.

Basil Guacamole

*3 large, ripe avocados, chopped
*1 clove garlic,  pressed or minced
*1 medium tomato, chopped (omit if avoiding nightshades)
*2 tsp fresh lemon juice
*2 green onions, chopped
*1/4 cup chopped fresh basil
*3/4  teaspoon sea salt (Celtic, Himalayan)
In a large mixing bowl, mash 1 of the chopped avocados with a fork. Add the remaining chopped avocados, the garlic, tomatoes, lime juice, lemon juice, green onions, basil, and sea salt. Stir to combine. This recipe might make more than you need for one soup recipe, so feel free to eat it with salad, meat, veggies, or even on a spoon like me  :).
Have fun and let me know how it goes!
This post was shared on Healing with Food Friday.
2 thoughts on “Cauliflower Soup Topped with Bacon and Basil Guacamole (GAPS/Paleo)

    Dawn Tasher (@peelingbackthe) said:
    November 15, 2013 at 7:34 am

    Wow. This is clever! I have never heard of Basil Guacamole! I adore cilantro but as an Italian I think I may just love the basil too. Trying this today! Thank you for sharing at Healing With Food Friday! Come back again this week – we are LIVE now!
    http://peelingbacktheonionlayers.com/healing-with-food-friday-10/

      Debbie responded:
      November 15, 2013 at 7:43 am

      Thanks Dawn! I’m part Italian, too. We should swap crazy family stories 🙂

Leave a Reply

