Day: August 28, 2013

Bacon Burger with Basil Guacamole (GAPS/Paleo)

Posted on Updated on

bacon burger

I just came back from a mini vacation with my parents and my kids. I had a great time and got to visit some places that brought back a lot of good memories of my childhood. But I’m SO glad to be home!

When I’m home I have certain things I cook that taste great and aren’t hard to make. When I’m traveling, everyone asks lots of questions and they can’t BELIEVE that I don’t eat this or that. And what about this? No? You’re kidding! It’s so hard to turn down something that’s been cooked for you when that’s how the person expresses love. I forget how weird I am until I get out of my little bubble.

I bring food in my suitcase when I travel. Canned meats or seafood, some nuts, coconut. Just in case I’m stranded with no food. My suitcase is usually pretty heavy.

Another travel challenge is that I’m picky about sleeping in a very dark room. My son found it pretty amusing when I called hospitality at the hotel to request a few band aids to stick over the lights on the smoke alarm and the little TV light (I didn’t tell them this was what I was doing). You’d be surprised at how shocking those lights are to your eyeballs when you’re used to sleeping in the dark! I suppose I could use one of those sleeping masks, but I also don’t like my eyes to be too hot. You can see that I’m very high maintenance. I’m improving, but I’m not sure I’ll ever be easy going.

I do have an awesome family and I had a great time for sure. I also ended up with a few ideas for new things to cook for my family.

The inspiration for this recipe was the guacamole bacon burger from the Red Robin. I changed the guacamole and the cheese, partially so that people who don’t tolerate nightshades could try the recipe with modifications.

Recipe

*8 large lettuce leaves

*4 1/4 to 1/3 lb burgers

*8 slices nitrate-free bacon

*shaved raw Parmesan (if you eat dairy)

*sliced red or sweet onion

*basil guacamole (recipe follows)

Cook the bacon in the oven at 375 degrees for 25-30 minutes. Grill or fry the burgers and salt to taste. Layer the remaining ingredients on the burger. Put a couple of pieces of bacon on the top. You can use a “lettuce” wrap, but I just like cutting it up and eating everything mixed together.

Basil Guacamole

*3 large, ripe avocados, chopped
*1 clove garlic,  pressed or minced
*1 medium tomato, chopped (omit if avoiding nightshades)
*2 tsp fresh lemon juice
*2 green onions, chopped
*1/4 cup chopped fresh basil
*3/4  teaspoon sea salt (Celtic, Himalayan)
In a large mixing bowl, mash 1 of the chopped avocados with a fork. Add the remaining chopped avocados, the garlic, tomatoes, lime juice, lemon juice, green onions, basil, and sea salt. Stir to combine.
Feel free to share any travel challenges you’ve had, or how you’ve overcome them!!! I clearly need help 🙂
This post was shared on Healing with Food Friday.