Meatloaf 3 Ways (GAPS/Paleo)

Posted on Updated on

Copy (1 ) of meatloaf

I like blogging and cooking, but I also have a husband, a couple of kids, two cats, and a job in special ed. And I’m going to school to become a Nutritional Therapy Practitioner. So while I love spending time in the kitchen, tonight it’s not going to happen. My go to meal when I have no time is meatloaf and some veggie, usually mashed cauliflower. My family doesn’t like the same thing all of the time, so I have three different ways I like to season the meatloaf.

Italian Seasoned

* 1 1/2 lbs ground meat (pork, beef, or turkey, any mix you like)

* 1/2 onion, finely chopped

* 1 1/2 tsp oregano

* 1 1/2 tsp basil

* 3/4 to 1 tsp sea salt (Celtic, Himalayan)

*1/4 c raw Parmesan (can be omitted)

* 1 clove of garlic, finely minced or pressed

Asian Seasoned

* 1 1/2 lbs ground meat (beef, turkey, pork)

* 1 1/2 tsp sesame oil

* 1 clove garlic, pressed or minced

* 2 green onions, chopped

* 1/4 tsp fish sauce (Red Boat is GAPS legal)

* 3/4 tsp sea salt (Celtic, Himalayan)

* 1 tsp honeyย  (optional)

“Breakfast Sausage” Seasoned

* 1 1/2 lbs ground meat (beef, turkey, pork, or mix)

* 1/2 onion, finely chopped

* 1 tsp sea salt (Celtic, Himalayan)

* 1 1/2 Tbsp rubbed sage

* 1 1/2 tsp thyme

* 1 tsp paprika

* 1/2 to 1 tsp cayenne (if you want it spicy)

* 2 cloves garlic, pressed or minced

Directions for any of the three

Mix all ingredients in a large bowl until well combined. Put the mixture into a loaf pan and bake at 350 degrees for 60-65 minutes. Remove from the oven and let rest a few minutes to let some of the juices reabsorb.

If you absolutely need ketchup with your meatloaf (I don’t), here’s a recipe.

In case you’re wondering what the stuff at the bottom of the picture is, it’s some of my home fermented cortido (it’s like Mexican sauerkraut). And in case you’re wondering whether I’m really going to eat three pieces of meatloaf, the answer is yes :). I’m starving!

7 thoughts on “Meatloaf 3 Ways (GAPS/Paleo)

    Andrea Choate said:
    October 9, 2013 at 5:35 pm

    I like your blog a lot! I too have a family, 3 kids, am pregnant, healing myself and my family, am a GAPS practitioner, permaculture farmer, and one busy lady! I don’t know how you do it… I wish we lived in the same city and could swap meal nights. Where do you live BTW. Keep up the good work!

      Debbie responded:
      October 9, 2013 at 5:38 pm

      Wow! You’re MUCH busier than I am!

      I live near Seattle. It would be fun to meet you. Not only so we could swap meal nights but so I could talk to someone about health without them looking at me as if I have two heads :).

    Andrea Choate said:
    October 9, 2013 at 5:36 pm

    Oh and PS my meatloaf was in the oven already when I saw this post! Coincidence?? And I am having 4 pieces! ๐Ÿ™‚ (eating for 2 ๐Ÿ™‚ )

      Debbie responded:
      October 9, 2013 at 5:41 pm

      Great minds think alike! And a healthy appetite is a great thing :).

    Debbie responded:
    October 9, 2013 at 5:51 pm

    So, if anyone knows how to make meatloaf look pretty in a photo, could you give me some tips?

    Kumu said:
    October 9, 2013 at 11:28 pm

    You are such a busy person Debbie…a superwoman ๐Ÿ™‚ and to churn up something healthy is a feat in itself ! And about the photo , maybe edit it and increase the contrast…not that I am an expert in food photography , but lately I limit it only to editing the brightness , contrast ratio and color temperature. I lack the patience for the “Photoshop ” Editing!

      Debbie responded:
      October 10, 2013 at 6:13 am

      Thanks! I just realized maybe my son could help me with one of his photo programs :). My little laptop doesn’t have any programs that could adjust color.

      Your food photography is gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

