“Sugar Cookie” Muffins/Cupcakes (GAPS/Paleo)

Posted on Updated on

sugar-cookie-muffins

These muffins remind me of the best mom in the world, mine :)!

She makes the world’s best sugar cookies (that I can’t have anymore) and she loves almond extract. So eating these muffins reminds me of making roll out Christmas cookies with my mom and eating the dough.

Recipe

*1/4 cup melted grass fed butter -or- 1/4 cup coconut oil + 1/8 tsp sea salt
*3/4 cup honey
*4 large free range eggs, room temp
*1 tsp vanilla extract
*2 tsp almond extract
*1 1/2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar

*2 1/2 cups blanched almond flour

*3/4  tsp baking soda

Warm the butter and the honey until just melted. Add room temperature eggs and other wet ingredients and mix. Combine dry ingredients together in a separate bowl, Add the dry ingredients to wet ingredients and mix well. Pour into greased muffin tins (or use cupcake liners like I do). Bake at 350 degrees for 20-23 minutes. Do not overcook. The ones in my photo are a little more done than I like them, Makes about 12 muffins/cupcakes.

Think sweet thoughts!

This post was shared on Healing with Food Friday.

17 thoughts on ““Sugar Cookie” Muffins/Cupcakes (GAPS/Paleo)

    Hope said:
    September 6, 2013 at 7:01 am

    Can I use flax seed eggs instead of real eggs? Or applesauce and baking powder?

    Debbie responded:
    September 6, 2013 at 7:11 am

    You could try it? I don’t think that egg subs work very well with almond and coconut flour recipes, though :(.

    When I couldn’t have eggs, I used grassfed gelatin as an egg substitute. It doesn’t help the muffins rise much, and you have to put them in the fridge to eat them. But they taste really yummy, especially if you haven’t had anything like that in a while!!!

    Joy said:
    September 6, 2013 at 9:53 pm

    Best “mom” in the ‘world’!! Yea for me!! I’ve made it!!

      Debbie responded:
      September 6, 2013 at 10:40 pm

      Yay, you! 🙂

    breanne said:
    September 8, 2013 at 1:39 pm

    Just made these but only used 2tbspb of raw honey and 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce and 10 drops of stevia… they were amazingly tasty and moist! I calculated calories at 170 per muffin.

      Debbie responded:
      September 8, 2013 at 2:17 pm

      Nice! I haven’t used much applesauce in my cooking so I haven’t ever made the conversions.

        Breanne said:
        September 8, 2013 at 3:13 pm

        I’m new to cooking but trying to avoid sugar as much as possible and the result was fab!!!

        Debbie responded:
        September 8, 2013 at 3:26 pm

        I agree that is a lot of honey :). I hadn’t made the stevia conversion on this recipe.

        Which brand of stevia did you use? I used Nunaturals when I made the conversion for the chocolate cupcakes. Today, my daughter made some with another brand and they weren’t as sweet.

        They tasted good to me, but the recipes I post on the blog are designed for people who have to give up a lot of stuff. So I want them to feel like they aren’t missing out. I want people who are NOT doing GAPS or paleo to like them :).

        Breanne said:
        September 8, 2013 at 3:40 pm

        The only brand stevia I use is sweet leaf as all the other brands I’ve seen sneak dextrose or some other form of sugar into the ingredients. I did the liquid stevia and the applesauce was unsweetened organic variety. I also added a few shakes of organic ground cinnamon. When I make these again I will probably add banana pieces as they almost tasted like banana bread without the banana so little chunks of banana would have just made these muffins incredible!!

        Debbie responded:
        September 8, 2013 at 3:46 pm

        🙂

    facingyourstorm said:
    September 15, 2013 at 9:37 am

    yum! those look really good! unfortunately, i’m allergic to nuts, any suggestions for using a nut free flour replacement? thanks
    ~rosie

      Debbie responded:
      September 15, 2013 at 9:43 am

      Are you allergic to coconut? I would use a coconut flour muffin recipe (The recipe will not convert almond flour to coconut flour). It will have a different texture.

      My family doesn’t like coconut flour, or I would bake with it more often. I think it’s much healthier. Let me know how you do!

        facingyourstorm said:
        September 15, 2013 at 9:51 am

        I love using coconut flour, though i can make baked good quite dense. thanks for the suggestion, i will definitely have to try that!
        ~rosie

    […] Sugar Cookie Muffins/Cupcakes from The Sour Path is the Sweetest […]

    […] Your Digestive Health at Peeling Back the Onion Layers   Sugar Cookie Muffins/Cupcakes at The Sour Path is the Sweetest     And Deb B’s GAPS Diet Story at Purposeful Nutrition   We were thrilled to […]

    reedme said:
    November 3, 2013 at 7:26 am

    Just made these and they are delicious! thanks for the recipe!

      Debbie responded:
      November 3, 2013 at 8:31 am

      I’m glad you liked them :), thanks for letting me know!

Leave a Reply

