Look Before You Leap – Or Not?

Posted on Updated on

frog

This is my very first post on the blog I never thought I’d write. I don’t really enjoy writing. But suddenly I find myself having a lot of important things to say. I’ve never been very opinionated about anything until now.

I always have been the type to “look before I leap”. I think it’s a fabulous idea to gather information before you make a decision. I know plenty of people who “leap before they look” and are constantly doing impulsive things, just to regret them and having to do a lot more work and change them later.

But I have to say, sometimes I do so much “looking” and evaluating and worrying and ruminating, that I don’t EVER actually leap! And I end up not doing something really worth doing.

I feel like there might be some people in the world who might be feeling like they need some help with their health, but doctors don’t seem to know what to do to help. I don’t want these people to feel alone because I’ve been like that. I’ve struggled with eating disorders, depression, and even been diagnosed with bipolar disorder. When I started on my crazy journey toward health, I had a body temperature of 94 degrees (adrenal fatigue?) and could barely get off the couch, clean house, or take care of my kids. So while my symptoms looked like mental symptoms to my doctors, I think my whole body was sick and toxic, and it was too worn out to produce any regular symptoms like a cold or an upset stomach.

So, through a series of happy accidents on the internet I discovered the Weston A. Price foundation and traditional foods. And then I discovered The GAPS Diet by Dr. Natasha Campbell McBride, a diet that focuses on healing the whole body through healing your digestion. It sounded crazy and overly restrictive and like something I would never be able to do. But I kept reading about it and decided it couldn’t hurt. So I actually did it instead of just reading and analyzing :).

So, fast forward 2 3/4 years and here I am, feeling MUCH better and attending a nutrition program (another HUGE leap since I had a bit of a hard time in school) so I can later help other people to feel better. The eating plan I’m on now is a cross between Ancestral/ Paleo and Full GAPS.

So I’m writing a blog that may be imperfect. I may even change some of my viewpoints later on and it will all be there in black and white. That I’m not perfect. Wow. But I feel like I have something important to say.

So I’m just going to leap!Β  Ribbet πŸ™‚

15 thoughts on “Look Before You Leap – Or Not?

    Lauren Owen said:
    August 4, 2013 at 1:29 am

    Sometimes you just have to jump and build your wings on the way down – I can’t remember who said that, but I heard it like 12 years ago and it has always stuck with me! Good Luck!

    Tertia said:
    August 4, 2013 at 1:33 am

    Welcome! I’ve only been around a few months myself, and I can identify with taking a long time to make the leap. I’m glad you have found a path that is making you feel better.

    debbie98055 responded:
    August 4, 2013 at 2:35 am

    Tertia and Lauren, thanks so much for the support!!! I didn’t really expect anyone to see the blog yet. I can’t figure out how to get pictures on it or change the background. I enjoyed looking at your blogs πŸ™‚

    Rachelle Louella Sparrow said:
    August 4, 2013 at 2:56 am

    Ribbet, love it, well done, love you!! Ribbet!

    rlodin said:
    August 4, 2013 at 4:17 am

    I leap before I look all the time! Looking forward to reading your information so maybe I can look a bit more πŸ˜€

      debbie98055 responded:
      August 4, 2013 at 4:59 am

      I actually kind of admire you for being able to leap without looking. You probably have an exiting life!

    cooking4wellness said:
    August 5, 2013 at 6:13 pm

    Debbie, this is great! I’m glad to see you are started on this!- Rachael G.

    Joy said:
    August 9, 2013 at 5:04 am

    What a change in 2+ yrs. Good leaping!! Love you!!

    debbie98055 responded:
    August 9, 2013 at 5:12 am

    Love you, too!!!

    Lori Mello said:
    August 9, 2013 at 5:17 am

    Love, love, love! ❀

    Angie Poole said:
    August 14, 2013 at 12:57 pm

    Thanks for posting this on the Wild Fermentation Facebook page! I am doing a sort of modified diet inspired by GAPS. I cheat more than I should, although in small ways, and I didn’t have major issues to address other than heartburn (which is more or less gone and I’m off the daily medication!). I like it because it makes me focus on real food. I’m really new to this so I’m always looking for recipes and ideas of what I can do to make this new relationship I have with food an interesting one.

      Debbie responded:
      August 14, 2013 at 6:00 pm

      Congratulations on your heartburn going away :). Good job!

      There are so many recipe websites now that weren’t available when I started GAPS. I’m so grateful. I do cook a lot, but I don’t always know how I did it. So I’ll have to work on that and try to post them! Be blessed.

    CJ said:
    November 6, 2013 at 9:54 pm

    I really like your blog, I’ve read almost every post. This is the entry that (I hope) will push me to also take that first leap. Your recipes sound delicious and cook-able, just what I’m looking for when days seem long and overwhelmed from caring for toddlers. Thank you for writing.

      Debbie responded:
      November 6, 2013 at 10:54 pm

      Yay! This is exactly the reason I wrote this blog!!! Even though I’m not a writer :).

      I’m so excited that you’re thinking of making a change! Don’t worry about being perfect. And keep me posted.

Leave a Reply

